Showing posts with label medical. Show all posts
Showing posts with label medical. Show all posts

State of Mind



This picture reflects exactly what I'm feeling at the moment.


Looking back at 2015 that's just a week ago, Wow.

Truly a year that played a pivotal role towards my life's plan. Experiences that can't be bought, and questions of the future that are still a somewhat mystery.

In a gist, here's 2015 - as the full story may take 10's of thousands of words and emotions to convey *best to catch me for a cuppa if ya can!
1. Helping my countrymen, Kelantan

2. Disappointed by PPUM

3. The American dream

4. Disappointed by KKM

5. A new adventure in Malaysia, Kuching

6. Medical to Dermatology

7. Youtube stardom still a distant future

8. 2016 - still with big dreams but nothing concrete as usual


Well, the thing that bugs me most is to see people advance in life while I "lag behind". The pathway I chose is a really long journey, and I still can't help but think about the WHAT IFS.



Every year I would make certain resolutions. Needless to say some are met and some may never see light. This year I didn't make any yet. I guess I'm still finding my way in this State of Mind.

What about you?



NEVER STOP LEARNING!!!



They say curiosity killed the cat. I say curiosity saved the other cats.


From the time you and I were born, we NEVER stopped learning. If there was a day where you can definitely 100% say you didn't learn anything - you have got to share with me what did you do on that day. FYI, sleeping or being comatosed or dead - technically you're learning within your dream despite the motorless physical state.



Learning need not be a degree or even attending a class. Learning is when you learn something new no matter how minuscule it seems. Example, you walk pass an busy street in New York - you subconsciously learn about people behaviour or even from an advertisement on the billboard. What about in the dessert? You learn about how the wind and weather changes throughout the day.

In my profession, we can never stop learning. The day we stop, is the day we give a subpar treatment to our patients. The world changes daily. And although the steps in managing a simple cough and cold may seem the same, as technology and biomedicine progresses - vaccinations come about and possibly one day an instant relief tablet.



Having said that, I am quite tired of it. Since young the aim was always to achieve straight A's in exams. 80% although an A, was still not good enough. Yes, I am ASIAN level. Going through medical school despite my personal belief it was considered a "holiday course" to me back then, I still studied taking exams one after another.

Years later and although my instagram and youtube may seem all the happs (happening), I still have to make time and study after working or even during. The road to become a specialist is long. For those who know me, I'm the slacker or the class. Not that I choose to be. Somehow I find that there are so many things to learn and see or do other than reading a book or doing questions after questions.



I may have ADHD (attention deficit hyperactive disorder) without me realizing. But I just cannot sit still when it comes to studying. It's such a bore listening to people telling me to study or etc. It's cool to know more about whatever I am doing. But the fact I have to sit another million exams to get there... I'm certain some of you understand my exact feelings very well.

In the end I ask myself - is it because I don't find what I'm doing interesting? Or am i just pure lazy. I guess it's a mixture of both. But do wish me luck for the hurdles I face in life. Hopefully one day I will look back at this post and say I made it through all those useless exams and achieved the ambition I desire.



Remember, knowledge is power. Knowledge is a right and a privilege. Let's make the best of it and
NEVER STOP LEARNING!



HOUSEMAN are COCKROACHES !!!


Man, that title - like the picture above just sends jitters down people's spines.


I don't know why but whenever I start a video or post, I tend to always reiterate the fact that I am a doctor. e.g.

"As you all know, I am a doctor"

I must apologize as I tend to have short-term memory unlike my readers/ people who watch my videos. #IMHO (In my honest opinion) there must be a God because me becoming a doctor with the little effort I put in compared to my colleagues - is a miracle. Them people are hardcore nerds man. I guess that's why I write and make videos - a hobby/ place to runaway from the "responsibility" bestowed upon me with the title DOCTOR.


Anyway, a week back I released a video with the title
"HOUSEMAN are COCKROACHES !!!".
Before jumping to conclusions that I am a malignant power-house medical officer who humiliates and condemn my junior doctors - houseofficers, Please do watch the video.

Surprised to say that video of mine went semi-viral amongst the doctor-circle in Malaysia (8000 plus views as i type). It is my most popular video since years back when I made violin videos or other videos that I removed from youtube in light of my professional outlook. Essentially, my video drew mixed feelings.


I spoke about what I see happening - somewhat like a daily routine: Senior doctors belittling the junior ones. If you didn't know, a medical student is proud and happy despite the "stress" up until they begin working from the bottom up. Most medical schools prepare the young padawan with knowledge to overcome illnesses. However, this knowledge sometimes only ends up lost in translation to clinical application.

If you've lost me there (geddit lost in translation? *crashcymbal), I'm talking about the stride from being a student and leaping to the heavy shoulders of a doctor. Although they're taught how to problem solve in medicinal sense - dealing with a patient for real is a whole different ballgame. The vast array of disease and atypical variants are astonishing to say the least. With that in mind, the junior doctor is not given a moment of failure.

At least in Malaysia, from the day you report to work -
YOU'RE EXPECTED TO FUNCTION!



I won't get into the details of it, but basically the learning curve is near 90 degrees steep and the student must be able to cope with physical and emotional stress daily. The issue is, like any other profession there comes a time when he or she experiences the BAD BOSS.

As I said, it's all about expectations. The houseman (or any other junior doctor) must endure brutal remarks or sometimes even physical abuse for mistakes as minute as a word written wrongly on the patient notes. You may think I'm exaggerating, but I assure you I am not. This kind of attitude from the senior doctors is what I was trying to address.

If we don't teach the younger generation what is wrong from right, they will grow up and be 'wrong' like their predecessors

I must clarify that I did not mention by any means that it is wrong for the superior to "teach" the junior, but instead of socially humiliating the person in front of patients and the surrounding on-lookers - to approach mistakes or inadequacies in a more appropriate manner. I won't continue further but let the video speak for itself.


HOUSEMAN are COCKROACHES !!!
o


Finally, for the ones who thumbbed up my vids as I was standing up for the so called "victimised", as I said at the end of the video - people will not ill treat you by any standards unless you are not up to the minimum expectation. So like I always do for myself, I urge everyone to evaluate themselves regularly to better ourselves and to improve patient safety.



Sleepless Night



This is me for the past few hours.

Working as a doctor I'm rather used to not sleeping for up to two days in a stretch. As such whenever I have the luxury of sleeping early or in on a Saturday morning, I utilize what was once taken for granted.


Next week I'll be starting my 1st week long "on-call" in Dermatology. Yes, the entire week I am subject to calls from the entire Sarawak for dermatology advice. Exciting! Although my "jonah-ness" scares me, I look forward to a pleasant week of learning and helping others.

But for now... Tonight i shall be awake for no reason at all. Just because my mind chooses to not sleep. Definitely going to be feeling it by noon.

Have a great and rested night/day people!
Be thankful to God for you are able to wake up to a new day!


A Malaysian Government Doctors Rant


As a child I was pre-groomed to be a doctor. Those who know me would probably say - we know! However, I don't say this merely due to my Punjabi side of my mixed heritage.

Remember when you were in school and they make you write those essays "My ambition" ? Well, I wanted to be a scientist/ surgeon. Probably due to my constant analytical and scientific inquisition.
Knowledge was powerful, and I as many - wanted to be powerful.


As I grew older, my mind was open to new and more intriguing career paths. By the age of 14-years-old I wanted to be a professional pool player! And I believed it was achievable! Youngest world champion was only 15. I would've been younger :P Ah, the big dreams.

It didn't stop there and never stopped since. I went through a lengthy process of trying to be a musician, engineer, and race car/ f1 driver. But, my asian heritage eventually pushed me to the line of medicine believing that the rest are merely hobbies than career options. With much debate and heaps of miracles - I am as you already know, a Doctor.



Many would argue that I should chase my dreams and do what I love in life. Suffice to say, God has a greater plan for every one of us. And looking back, I am glad I chose to follow God's plan. I am who I am today and have everything I have because I chose to follow.




Do not misinterpret me. I do have my complaints and dissatisfactions being a doctor. I wanted to quit being a doctor many times for many reasons:
the lengthy hours, no day off, no proper meals
inappropriate wage, donkey work, lousy colleagues
poor patient care, and the list goes on. 
In a gist, I felt that I deserve(d) more for the effort and heart I put into my work and to the patient's I care for.




Yes yes. I know what's on your mind and many especially Malaysians.
"You should know that being a doctor is a sacrifice; if you're in it for the money you should do something else"


Those are the common lines used. But let me say this very LOUDLY:
CHOOSING TO BE A DOCTOR DOES NOT MEAN YOU CHOOSE TO LIVE A PAUPERS/AVERAGE LIFE AND NEGLECT YOUR ENTIRE PERSONAL WELL BEING, FAMILY AND FRIENDS!



I say this because we as doctors in Malaysia have already come to a point where there's no return.

We (doctors who work in the government) have the
GOVERNMENT SERVANTS ATTITUDE:
jealousy, discontent, abundant complaints, can I punch out yet.


We constantly draw self pity amongst friends who are working other jobs and are doing much better than us. Always saying "Not as rich as you", "Don't have so much free time as you", "On-call".

We stereotype doctors in the private sector as sell-outs/ money hungry people. Yet, We complain about being over-worked and underpaid on a weekly if not daily basis. I know countless doctors who work second jobs: e.g insurance, MLM's, online businesses, and etc.

We become workers than doctors. Rather than taking that extra half hour or even 15 minutes to explain to a patient the need for a lifestyle change for his/her illness- many scold the patients and condemn them for their actions that brought them to the hospital. Imagine if you were the ill patient. I guarantee that you probably think twice about going to see a doctor the next time you're ill. You'd probably go to the "bomoh" or "sin seh". And doctors probably say, why didn't he/she come see us rather than seek alternative medicine. Geez I wonder why???!

We become critics and Gods. Many Senior doctors instil fear into houseman (junior doctors)/ medical-officers (junior compared to specialists and consultants) and as such create an unwanted working environment that essentially says -
do not disturb me, if you do i will scold you ; 
you must know how to be a doctor, but i'm not going to teach you how.


And if something goes wrong?? You can imagine the ferocity and beating the young doctor goes through. Common sense, a person can never learn if he or she is never taught to begin with.

The years of diligent study and joy we brought to our families when we received the title MBBS or MD on our graduation day, to some young doctors seem pointless and a wasted effort. The potentials of individuals who could have been an outstanding physician/surgeon/ etc -
ruined by the so-called "more experienced doctors".



Many of us who practice would probably agree that we would not want our children to become doctors due to any number of reasons I mentioned above.

I leave you with this to ponder upon:

  1. What do you think is the problem with our system compared to other countries?
  2. Is it the hierarchy that everyone hates yet when in power uses blatantly?
  3. Is it the patient to doctor ratio?
  4. Or does it boil down to doctors in the government service being "under-paid"?


Btw, I have a youtube channel too! click here
Need extra income too ya know :P LOL

5 years, Officially a Doctor! MBBS




As the title goes, this morning I woke up as Benedict Sachdev the medical student from IMU.
I will be sleeping tonight as Dr Benedict Sachdev MBBS (IMU).




It has been a long journey of 5 years.

Began on the 28/2/08 
2 and a half years pre-clinical phase1 at Bukit Jalil IMU campus
2 years clinical phase 2 at IMU Seremban Campus and half a year at IMU Batu Pahat Campus
Ended on the 28/2/13


The past years have been full of wonderful memories from the
mind blowing orientation of ragging and bullying, 
enjoying the daily 2 hour lectures as a holiday, 
memorizing FLM's at the library, 
practicing clinical skills at the clinical skills unit, 
representing the batch, house team and IMU in sports, 
attending life changing talks, 
having tea in the library and hanging out at the student pool lounge,
rushing assignments like a mad person,
waking up as early as 5 am to get to the hospital,
preparing presentations one after another,
enjoying my life staying next to the beach,
watching movies at the cinema on a near weekly basis,
playing games, youtubing and making videos,
talking with people of superior intellect and ... ,
embracing the government health care system with my now fellow colleagues,
sharing memories and tears with patients,
witnessing life and it's middle and end,
travelling back and forth as the only crazy person from Port dickson to Seremban on a daily basis,
running home on weekends to spend time with family and friends,
studying last minute and passing by God's grace,
staying for the first time in my life with a housemate,
food hunting and tasting with buddies,
hanging out at the shopping mall,
football gang/futsol gang,
sitting exams one after another,
and lastly - enjoying this experience of learning with wonderful friends, lecturers, staff, and most importantly family & God.


Truly I tell you, this course at IMU (international medical university) has been life changing, maturity growing, knowledge overwhelming, fun and leisure filled, and lastly one of a kind!



Thank you my dear family, friends, colleagues, teachers, lecturers, university, hospital and clinic staff, and everyone else who have played even a minor role in my journey at IMU. Most importantly thank you God who without I would not have become Doctor Benedict Sachdev!




Congratulations MeDt108 / C2/10! Press on and be a good impact to society. Always remember, you can do it! FAR OUT!


for those wondering, i got a family medicine case for my exam with ischaemic heart disease, hypertension, diabetes mellitus, hyperlipidemia, fatty liver and alcoholism. I was asked about both my obs&gynae as well as orthopaedics portfolio.

Final Exam for MBBS


Short note. sorry for the lack of updates. have been busy with chinese new year celebrations and now in 3 days time - Wednesday 27/2/13 I will be sitting for my final examination!

After 5 years in the medical course at IMU(international medical university, Malaysia), it boils down to this:
  1. Waiting in the hall at IMU Seremban campus at 7:30am on wednesday. 
  2. They call me for exam
  3. 1 hour with a patient with any type of disease under the sun - obtain a full history, perform a thorough physical examination, make a diagnosis, plan out the investigations and management
  4. half hour with 3 examiners about the patient
  5. half hour with another 3 examiners about any of my 10 portfolios/reports I prepared in my final semester

And by then, I go home and sulk/ celebrate.

On Thursday 28/2/13, that is the following day -
I will know if I will continue being regular Benedict, or Doctor Benedict!


Do Pray for me. I reallly realllyy need it! haha.

To the rest of my colleagues, all the best! Here goes nothing!

SNSD Girls Generation!



For obvious reasons, I need not introduce today's post.

For those who are still oblivious, the title is a 9 girl Korean sensation world famous for their catchy songs. Probably more so by their insanely tremendous beauty/ hot looks!


Well, the argument up till the end of time would be - Korean girls - Plastics (cosmetic surgery)


To most girls, they'd be jealous and snub'em. To most guys if not all, they'd be drooling and wanna date/bed'em!


This song has been out awhile and I thought of sharing it due to its catchy yet diverse and beautiful beat, mix, and tune!

Enjoy the song/ girls - whatever rocks your boat :)


Girls' Generation 소녀시대_Front-Runner Stage "I GOT A BOY"_KBS MUSIC BANK_2013.01.18





And here's a little encore they did at their live performance, combining some of their most famous songs:


Girls' Generation 소녀시대_Encore "Genie+Hoot+Gee"_KBS Yoo Hee-Yeol's Sketchbook_2013.01.18





Betcha like that :P
Btw, did you notice that all their pictures feature their amazingly long sexy legs? Just food for thought.

A few words that say it all



You raped her because her clothes provoked you?

I should break your face because your stupidity provokes me.



Rape is not a joke. If you know of someone who has done so or plans to do so, follow that statement. Or report it and leave it to the authorities. I prefer the first choice.



This pic was stolen off the infamous facebook newsfeed!

Choices in dilemmas



Have a look at the picture, what do you see?


You probably guessed it right, it's a foot. And that's a pregnant lady. hehe.


But moving on, i found this article on facebook and i feel it's a good read. So enjoy and make your own conclusion at the end :)

--------------------------------------------------------

A worried woman went to her gynecologist and said: 

'Doctor, I have a serious problem and desperately need your help! My baby is not even 1 year old and I'm pr
egnant again. I don't want kids so close together.'

So the doctor said: 'Ok and what do you want me to do?'

She said: 'I want you to end my pregnancy, and I'm counting on your help with this.'

The doctor thought for a little, and after some silence he said to the lady: 'I think I have a better solution for your problem. It's less dangerous for you too.'

She smiled, thinking that the doctor was going to accept her request.

Then he continued: 'You see, in order for you not to have to take care of 2 babies at the same time, let's kill the one in your arms. This way, you could rest some before the other one is born. If we're going to kill one of them, it doesn't matter which one it is. There would be no risk for your body if you chose the one in your arms.'

The lady was horrified and said: 'No doctor! How terrible! It's a crime to kill a child!'

'I agree', the doctor replied. 'But you seemed to be OK with it, so I thought maybe that was the best solution.'

The doctor smiled, realizing that he had made his point.

He convinced the mom that there is no difference in killing a child that's already been born and one that's still in the womb. The crime is the same!

If you agree, please SHARE.

Together we can help save precious lives!

Love says, 'I sacrifice myself for the good of the other person.' Abortion says, 'I sacrifice the other person for the good of myself.

Suicide: a second chance!






If you thought for one moment that your problems would end by your death, you're wrong. It would just carry on - leaving it with people who care about you.



You may say nobody cares about you; your relationship is down the drain; finances are essentially as good as bankruptcy; you're doing the world a favor by removing your worthless and useless self off from the face of the Earth.



Let me tell you something:

You are worth so much more than that!



Don't let people dictate who you are. They may say you're an idiot, a freak, stupid or even a disappointment. But all in all, the decision is in your hands.

You can make a change, you can make a difference!


Don't be a had been, could have been or any other been been. Be a person that is going to be a someone in the future! Everyone has the right for a better future, a better life - it's just whether they endure the pain and life's crap long enough to see the end of the tunnel.


At the end of the day, if all hope is lost - always remember, no matter what religion you believe in (christianity, muslim, buddha, hindu or etc.), that BIG MAN up there is always ready to hear you out and comfort you.



You probably tell me you have tried but to no avail. It's all about timing my friend. May not be today, tomorrow, the next week, month, year, decade - but so long you hang on and persevere, at the right time and moment, you will reap the rewards and be so ever grateful that on this day you chose a better ending for yourself.



Be smart, make a change, make a difference - 
you are more special and worth it than you could ever imagine!


Suddenly, on the opposite end



This post is probably the longest post I have and will ever upload on my site, but it's really a worthwhile read. Try not to brush it away but take the next 5 minutes enjoying and understanding what is written.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
(for those who can't take lengthy reads)
click here to be redirected to Youtube for his speech
-------------------------------------------------------------------


-------------------Suddenly, on the opposite end--------------------

Below is the transcript of the talk of Dr. Richard Teo, who is a 40-year-old millionaire and cosmetic surgeon with a stage-4 lung cancer but selflessly came to share with the D1 class his life experience on 19-Jan-2012. He has just passed away few days ago on 18 October 2012.

Hi good morning to all of you. My voice is a bit hoarse, so please bear with m
e.
 I thought I'll just introduce myself. My name is Richard, I'm a medical doctor. And I thought I'll just share some thoughts of my life. It's my pleasure to be invited by prof. Hopefully, it can get you thinking about how... as you pursue this.. embarking on your training to become dental surgeons, to think about other things as well.

Since young, I am a typical product of today's society. Relatively successful product that society requires.. From young, I came from a below average family. I was told by the media... and people around me that happiness is about success. And that success is about being wealthy. With this mind-set, I've always be extremely competitive, since I was young.

Not only do I need to go to the top school, I need to have success in all fields. Uniform groups, track, everything. I needed to get trophies, needed to be successful, I needed to have colours award, national colours award, everything. So I was highly competitive since young. I went on to medical school, graduated as a doctor. Some of you may know that within the medical faculty, ophthalmology is one of the most highly sought after specialities. So I went after that as well. I was given a traineeship in ophthalmology, I was also given a research scholarship by NUS to develop lasers to treat the eye.

So in the process, I was given 2 patents, one for the medical devices, and another for the lasers. And you know what, all this academic achievements did not bring me any wealth. So once I completed my bond with MOH, I decided that this is taking too long, the training in eye surgery is just taking too long. And there's lots of money to be made in the private sector. If you're aware, in the last few years, there is this rise in aesthetic medicine. Tons of money to be made there. So I decided, well, enough of staying in institution, it's time to leave. So I quit my training halfway and I went on to set up my aesthetic clinic... in town, together with a day surgery centre.

You know the irony is that people do not make heroes out average GP (general practitioner), family physicians. They don't. They make heroes out of people who are rich and famous. People who are not happy to pay $20 to see a GP, the same person have no qualms paying ten thousand dollars for a liposuction, 15 thousand dollars for a breast augmentation, and so on and so forth. So it's a no brainer isn't? Why do you want to be a gp? Become an aesthetic physician. So instead of healing the sick and ill, I decided that I'll become a glorified beautician. So, business was good, very good. It started off with waiting of one week, then became 3weeks, then one month, then 2 months, then 3 months. I was overwhelmed; there were just too many patients. Vanities are fantastic business. I employed one doctor, the second doctor, the 3rd doctor, the 4th doctor. And within the 1st year, we're already raking in millions. Just the 1st year. But never is enough because I was so obsessed with it. I started to expand into Indonesia to get all the rich Indonesian tai-tais who wouldn't blink an eye to have a procedure done. So life was really good.

So what do I do with the spare cash. How do I spend my weekends? Typically, I'll have car club gatherings. I take out my track car, with spare cash I got myself a track car. We have car club gatherings. We'll go up to Sepang in Malaysia. We'll go for car racing. And it was my life. With other spare cash, what do i do? I get myself a Ferrari. At that time, the 458 wasn't out, it's just a spider convertible, 430. This is a friend of mine, a schoolmate who is a forex trader, a banker. So he got a red one, he was wanting all along a red one, I was getting the silver one.

So what do I do after getting a car? It's time to buy a house, to build our own bungalows. So we go around looking for a land to build our own bungalows, we went around hunting. So how do i live my life? Well, we all think we have to mix around with the rich and famous. This is one of the Miss Universe. So we hang around with the beautiful, rich and famous. This by the way is an internet founder. So this is how we spend our lives, with dining and all the restaurants and Michelin Chefs you know.

So I reach a point in life that I got everything for my life. I was at the pinnacle of my career and all. That's me one year ago in the gym and I thought I was like, having everything under control and reaching the pinnacle.

Well, I was wrong. I didn't have everything under control. About last year March, I started to develop backache in the middle of nowhere. I thought maybe it was all the heavy squats I was doing. So I went to SGH, saw my classmate to do an MRI, to make sure it's not a slipped disc or anything. And that evening, he called me up and said that we found bone marrow replacement in your spine. I said, sorry what does that mean? I mean I know what it means, but I couldn't accept that. I was like “Are you serious?” I was still running around going to the gym you know. But we had more scans the next day, PET scans - positrons emission scans, they found that actually I have stage 4 terminal lung cancer. I was like "Whoa where did that come from?” It has already spread to the brain, the spine, the liver and the adrenals. And you know one moment I was there, totally thinking that I have everything under control, thinking that I've reached the pinnacle of my life. But the next moment, I have just lost it.

This is a CT scan of the lungs itself. If you look at it, every single dot there is a tumour. We call this miliaries tumour. And in fact, I have tens of thousands of them in the lungs. So, I was told that even with chemotherapy, that I'll have about 3-4months at most. Did my life come crushing on, of course it did, who wouldn't? I went into depression, of course, severe depression and I thought I had everything.

See the irony is that all these things that I have, the success, the trophies, my cars, my house and all. I thought that brought me happiness. But i was feeling really down, having severe depression. Having all these thoughts of my possessions, they brought me no joy. The thought of... You know, I can hug my Ferrari to sleep, no... No, it is not going to happen. It brought not a single comfort during my last ten months. And I thought they were, but they were not true happiness. But it wasn't. What really brought me joy in the last ten months was interaction with people, my loved ones, friends, people who genuinely care about me, they laugh and cry with me, and they are able to identify the pain and suffering I was going through. That brought joy to me, happiness. None of the things I have, all the possessions, and I thought those were supposed to bring me happiness. But it didn't, because if it did, I would have felt happy think about it, when I was feeling most down..

You know the classical Chinese New Year that is coming up. In the past, what do I do? Well, I will usually drive my flashy car to do my rounds, visit my relatives, to show it off to my friends. And I thought that was joy, you know. I thought that was really joy. But do you really think that my relatives and friends, whom some of them have difficulty trying to make ends meet, that will truly share the joy with me? Seeing me driving my flashy car and showing off to them? No, no way. They won’t be sharing joy with me. They were having problems trying to make ends meet, taking public transport. In fact i think, what I have done is more like you know, making them envious, jealous of all I have. In fact, sometimes even hatred.

Those are what we call objects of envy. I have them, I show them off to them and I feel it can fill my own pride and ego. That didn't bring any joy to these people, to my friends and relatives, and I thought they were real joy.

Well, let me just share another story with you. You know when I was about your age, I stayed in king Edward VII hall. I had this friend whom I thought was strange. Her name is Jennifer, we're still good friends. And as I walk along the path, she would, if she sees a snail, she would actually pick up the snail and put it along the grass patch. I was like why do you need to do that? Why dirty your hands? It’s just a snail. The truth is she could feel for the snail. The thought of being crushed to death is real to her, but to me it's just a snail. If you can't get out of the pathway of humans then you deserve to be crushed, it’s part of evolution isn't it? What an irony isn't it?

There I was being trained as a doctor, to be compassionate, to be able to empathise; but I couldn't. As a house officer, I graduated from medical school, posted to the oncology department at NUH. And, every day, every other day I witness death in the cancer department. When I see how they suffered, I see all the pain they went through. I see all the morphine they have to press every few minutes just to relieve their pain. I see them struggling with their oxygen breathing their last breath and all. But it was just a job. When I went to clinic every day, to the wards every day, take blood, give the medication but was the patient real to me? They weren't real to me. It was just a job, I do it, I get out of the ward, I can't wait to get home, I do my own stuff.

Was the pain, was the suffering the patients went through real? No. Of course I know all the medical terms to describe how they feel, all the suffering they went through. But in truth, I did not know how they feel, not until I became a patient. It is until now; I truly understand how they feel. And, if you ask me, would I have been a very different doctor if I were to re-live my life now, I can tell you yes I will. Because I truly understand how the patients feel now. And sometimes, you have to learn it the hard way.

Even as you start just your first year, and you embark this journey to become dental surgeons, let me just challenge you on two fronts.

Inevitably, all of you here will start to go into private practice. You will start to accumulate wealth. I can guarantee you. Just doing an implant can bring you thousands of dollars, it's fantastic money. And actually there is nothing wrong with being successful, with being rich or wealthy, absolutely nothing wrong. The only trouble is that a lot of us like myself couldn't handle it.

Why do I say that? Because when I start to accumulate, the more I have, the more I want. The more I wanted, the more obsessed I became. Like what I showed you earlier on, all I can was basically to get more possessions, to reach the pinnacle of what society did to us, of what society wants us to be. I became so obsessed that nothing else really mattered to me. Patients were just a source of income, and I tried to squeeze every single cent out of these patients.

A lot of times we forget, whom we are supposed to be serving. We become so lost that we serve nobody else but just ourselves. That was what happened to me. Whether it is in the medical, the dental fraternity, I can tell you, right now in the private practice, sometimes we just advise patients on treatment that is not indicated. Grey areas. And even though it is not necessary, we kind of advocate it. Even at this point, I know who are my friends and who genuinely cared for me and who are the ones who try to make money out of me by selling me "hope". We kind of lose our moral compass along the way. Because we just want to make money.

Worse, I can tell you, over the last few years, we bad mouth our fellow colleagues, our fellow competitors in the industry. We have no qualms about it. So if we can put them down to give ourselves an advantage, we do it. And that's what happening right now, medical, dental everywhere. My challenge to you is not to lose that moral compass. I learnt it the hard way, I hope you don't ever have to do it.

Secondly, a lot of us will start to get numb to our patients as we start to practise. Whether is it government hospitals, private practice, I can tell you when I was in the hospital, with stacks of patient folders, I can't wait to get rid of those folders as soon as possible; I can't wait to get patients out of my consultation room as soon as possible because there is just so many, and that's a reality. Because it becomes a job, a very routine job. And this is just part of it. Do I truly know how the patient feels back then? No, I don't. The fears and anxiety and all, do I truly understand what they are going through? I don't, not until when this happens to me and I think that is one of the biggest flaws in our system.

We’re being trained to be healthcare providers, professional, and all and yet we don't know how exactly they feel. I'm not asking you to get involved emotionally, I don't think that is professional but do we actually make a real effort to understand their pain and all? Most of us won’t, alright, I can assure you. So don't lose it, my challenge to you is to always be able to put yourself in your patient's shoes.

Because the pain, the anxiety, the fear are very real even though it's not real to you, it's real to them. So don't lose it and you know, right now I'm in the midst of my 5th cycle of my chemotherapy. I can tell you it’s a terrible feeling. Chemotherapy is one of those things that you don't wish even your enemies to go through because it's just suffering, lousy feeling, throwing out, you don't even know if you can retain your meals or not. Terrible feeling! And even with whatever little energy now I have, I try to reach out to other cancer patients because I truly understand what pain and suffering is like. But it's kind of little too late and too little.

You guys have a bright future ahead of you with all the resource and energy, so I’m going to challenge you to go beyond your immediate patients. To understand that there are people out there who are truly in pain, truly in hardship. Don’t get the idea that only poor people suffer. It is not true. A lot of these poor people do not have much in the first place, they are easily contented. for all you know they are happier than you and me but there are out there, people who are suffering mentally, physically, hardship, emotionally, financially and so on and so forth, and they are real. We choose to ignore them or we just don't want to know that they exist.

So do think about it alright, even as you go on to become professionals and dental surgeons and all. That you can reach out to these people who are in need. Whatever you do can make a large difference to them. I'm now at the receiving end so I know how it feels, someone who genuinely care for you, encourage and all. It makes a lot of difference to me. That’s what happens after treatment. I had a treatment recently, but I’ll leave this for another day. A lot of things happened along the way, that's why I am still able to talk to you today.

I'll just end of with this quote here, it's from this book called Tuesdays with Morris, and some of you may have read it. Everyone knows that they are going to die; every one of us knows that. The truth is, none of us believe it because if we did, we will do things differently. When I faced death, when I had to, I stripped myself off all stuff totally and I focused only on what is essential. The irony is that a lot of times, only when we learn how to die then we learn how to live. I know it sounds very morbid for this morning but it's the truth, this is what I’m going through.

Don’t let society tell you how to live. Don’t let the media tell you what you're supposed to do. Those things happened to me. And I led this life thinking that these are going to bring me happiness. I hope that you will think about it and decide for yourself how you want to live your own life. Not according to what other people tell you to do, and you have to decide whether you want to serve yourself, whether you are going to make a difference in somebody else's life. Because true happiness doesn't come from serving yourself. I thought it was but it didn't turn out that way.

Also most importantly, I think true joy comes from knowing God. Not knowing about God – I mean, you can read the bible and know about God – but knowing God personally; getting a relationship with God. I think that’s the most important. That’s what I’ve learnt.

So if I were to sum it up, I’d say that the earlier we sort out the priorities in our lives, the better it is. Don’t be like me – I had no other way. I had to learn it through the hard way. I had to come back to God to thank Him for this opportunity because I’ve had 3 major accidents in my past – car accidents. You know, these sports car accidents – I was always speeding , but somehow I always came out alive, even with the car almost being overturned. And I wouldn’t have had a chance. Who knows, I don’t know where else I’d be going to! Even though I was baptised it was just a show, but the fact that this has happened, it gave me a chance to come back to God.

Few things I’d learnt though:
1. Trust in the Lord your God with all your heart – this is so important.
2. Is to love and serve others, not just ourselves.

There is nothing wrong with being rich or wealthy. I think it’s absolutely alright, cos God has blessed. So many people are blessed with good wealth, but the trouble is I think a lot of us can’t handle it. The more we have, the more we want. I’ve gone through it, the deeper the hole we dig, the more we get sucked into it, so much so that we worship wealth and lose focus. Instead of worshipping God, we worship wealth. It’s just a human instinct. It’s just so difficult to get out of it.

We are all professionals, and when we go into private practise, we start to build up our wealth – inevitably. So my thought are, when you start to build up wealth and when the opportunity comes, do remember that all these things don’t belong to us. We don’t really own it nor have rights to this wealth. It’s actually God’s gift to us. Remember that it’s more important to further His Kingdom rather than to further ourselves.

Anyway I think that I’ve gone through it, and I know that wealth without God is empty. It is more important that you fill up the wealth, as you build it up subsequently, as professionals and all, you need to fill it up with the wealth of God.

The letter 'R'





When you see or hear of the letter 'R', what comes to mind?


Chances are you're thinking of:

1. Racing

2. Running

3. Re-(something)

4. Raw

5. Rape

6. Regret

7. Random

8. Rock and ... Etc.



But at this moment I am thinking of "reality".






Reality that i have paved my path to becoming a healer, a professional, a dedicated, a responsible .. DoctoR.




And the thoughts that pass through my mind are:
1. There goes personal time
2. No more dream house or car
3. Another millennium of studying and more exams



Negative i know, but i can't help it. The idea that my peers in other career paths have been working for at least 1 to two years by the time i graduate, people have a more relaxing life, able to support themselves and family...


Well, perseverance they say. Optimistically, we "save" and "heal" people. That should be enough satisfaction isn't it? But to me it is not.



This is because i realize that for the most of it i am just assisting what magnificent healing abilities this thing called the human body that God created is already capable of. With or without my intervention, people will get better.






At the end of it as well, who am i to claim "i treated and healed you".


The never ending dilemma of a doctor-in-progress (final prototype).



Btw, how do you like my drawing and pictures? Haha.

- Posted using BlogPress from BeN'Z New iPad

This picture says it all!!!





Thanks to all of you for your prayers. Glory to God for by His strength and grace i pullled through :)


Below is when we were waiting for our results - high tension in the air.





Below is what made us all smile!





- Posted using BlogPress from BeN'Z iPad 2

First Professional Exam (Medicine)





The time has come whereby i am nearing the phase of my life of being a full fledged "doctor".

My exams are next week wednesday and thursday (8th and 9th respectively) , and clinical the following monday and tuesday (13 and 14respectively).

My results will be on wednesday the 15th where they will tell me if i pass or fail or have to take an immediate re-sit if i am borderline pass/fail.


I am at my wits about the exams i have millions of things i have yet to even read let alone study, and i only have a span of several days. I really need God to intervene and help me pass this (same as everything else it seems).

For it is on my own strength, i am unable; but with Him, i am certain it is possible and i pray it happens!


Do pray for me and hope my next post here are of joyous happenings and me rambling about moving to Batu Pahat for my final semester when i pass!

Thanks in advance and God bless!


- Posted using BlogPress from BeN'Z iPad 2

Where's your conscience??!





Just reported in the newspaper yesterday was the article above.

If you can't really read it as you are looking at it now, i urge you to click on it to enlarge and digest what happened.


------------------------------------------o~
The gist of it just says,

woman got mugged by snatch-thief on motorcycle --> fell down --> sustained multiple head injuries --> intracranial bleed and fractured skull --> lying on the ground --> 7 passer-bys' did not do anything about it and essentially said "meh" to that --> hours later discovered by others and sent to the hospital --> too late --> post-mortem --> cremated yesterday at 2pm with very upset family...

------------------------------------------o~






So as my title says people, where did all the humanitarianism and little bit of common sense as well as conscience disappeared to?


Far out seriously. My condolences to the loved ones and may the Father receive her in heaven.




- Posted using BlogPress from BeN'Z iPad 2

You have reached the end of the page
Navigate through older or newer posts in the above.

come back soon & be updated with the latest BeN'Z happenings.
GOD BLESS YOU & HAVE A GREAT DAY!
Copyright of BeN'Z ver 12 2012.

Share

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More